Advanced Glycobiology (Spring 2016)

(MED 225/CHEM 237/BIOM 222/BGGN 236/CMM 225)

Course Syllabus

Assignment Due Dates: Topics for Final Essay due June 2  |   Final Essay due June 10

Date Topic Discussion Leader(s) Assigned Materials
March 29 Overview and discussion guidelines
Primer on Glycans, Lectins and Biological Functions
Esko & All Instructors Study Questions
Assigned Reading
Presentation Materials
March 31 Hematology: Components of the Blood Varki (Esko) Study Questions
Assigned Reading

Presentation Materials
April 5 Xenoantigens, Transplantation and Rejection Varki (Esko) Study Questions
Assigned Reading

April 7 Celllular organization and transferase structure Esko (Godula) Study Questions
Assigned Reading
April 12 GAGs Esko (Gagneux) Study Questions
Assigned Reading
April 14 Lectins and GAG binding proteins Esko (Gordts) Study Questions
Assigned Reading
April 19 Inflammation - Siglecs and Selectins Varki (Bode) Study Questions
Assigned Reading
April 21 Barriers - Mucins Godula (Bode) Study Questions
Assigned Reading
April 26 Milk Oligosaccharides Bode (Godula) Study Questions
Assigned Reading
April 28 Bacterial polysaccharide capsules Nizet (Godula) Assigned Reading
May 3 Glycan mimicry and glycosidases in microbial pathogenesis Nizet (Esko) Assigned Reading
May 5 Symbiosis Gagneux (Varki) Assigned Reading
Presentation Materials
May 10 Plants and Lectins Gagneux (Esko) Study Questions
Assigned Reading
Presentation Materials
May 12 Fertilization, Implantation, Placentation Gagneux (Gordts) Study Questions
Assigned Reading
Presentation Materials
May 17 Evolutionary Glycobiology Gagneux (Varki) Assigned Reading
May 19 Diabetes, O-GicNAc, AGE Gordts (Godula) Study Questions
Assigned Reading
May 24 Glycoengineering Godula (Fuster) Study Questions
Assigned Reading
May 26 Lysosomal Recycling and Storage Disorders Esko (Varki) Study Questions
Assigned Reading
May 31 Influenza and HIV Paulson (Gagneux) Assigned Reading
June 2 CDG and therapy Freeze (Varki) Study Questions
Assigned Reading
June 7 Cancer Fuster (Esko) Study Questions
Assigned Reading
June 9 Drugs and Inhibitors Esko (Godula) Study Questions
Assigned Reading

 

Course Faculty

Lars Bode
Associate Professor
Department of Pediatrics
UC San Diego
Bode lab website
lbode@ucsd.edu
Jeffrey Esko
Distinguished Professor
Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
UC San Diego
Esko lab website
jesko@ucsd.edu
Hudson Freeze
Director, Human Genetics Program
Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
Freeze website
hfreeze@ucsd.edu
Mark Fuster
Associate Professor
Department of Medicine
UC San Diego
Fuster website
mfuster@ucsd.edu
Pascal Gagneux
Associate Professor
Department of Pathology
UC San Diego
Gagneux lab website
pgagneux@ucsd.edu
Kamil Godula
Assistant Professor
Departments of Chemistry and Biochemistry
UC San Diego
Godula lab website
kgodula@ucsd.edu
Philip Gordts
Assistant Research Scientist
Department of Medicine
UC San Diego
Gordts lab website
pgordts@ucsd.edu
Victor Nizet
Professor
Department of Pediatrics
UC San Diego
Nizet lab website
vnizet@ucsd.edu
James Paulson
Professor and Chair
Department of Cell and Molecular Biology
The Scripps Research Institute
Paulson lab website
jpaulson@scripps.edu
Ajit Varki
Distinguished Professor
Departments of Medicine & Cellular and Molecular Medicine
UC San Diego
Varki lab website
a1varki@ucsd.edu